A Late Night Rant

I’m sorry to have to subject y’all to a rant but this HAS to be said. If you don’t wish to read a rant then I urge you to turn back now because this could get pretty ugly.

So, it’s currently almost 2am here in the UK and I just discovered that the BBC run a news bulletin starting at 1am called Newsday. Now, I’ve not got a problem with the majority of BBC programs but what does irritate the bejesus out of me are: reporters pronouncing names wrong and reporters making offensive/insensitive comments on national TV. Now, imagine my utter disgust when I hear a reporter, who is discussing the Indian gang rape case, using the phrase “attacked briefly.”! I’m sorry, but NO rape is brief, much less a gang rape. The fact that this poor woman was attacked by more than 1 man would have dragged out the length of the attack. I’m no expert but I’m pretty sure that the length of a gang rape would be longer than that of an individual attacking someone. So, for this reporter to use the word briefly is an utter disgrace. It’s comments like that which make the female population think that all men are the same and that men think if a woman has been raped or sexually assaulted, whether by one man or lots of men, they are automatically one of 2 things: asking for it or insignificant. Yes, that’s right, I used the word insignificant. EVERY rape or sexual assault survivor IS significant and they DO matter. It’s comments like that which knock survivors back and make them think twice. Nobody should have to live through that let alone relive it because of some imbecile saying something which they will claim was just a “slip of the tongue”. I can’t see any way that this can be properly justified. Maybe, at least I think, this reporter needs to be taught a thing or two about the effects of rape and sexual assault so he is more sensitive to the situation next time. Of course, there’s always the possibility that he is a misogynist or fascist who can’t stand the thought of women getting attention for any reason. When I heard that comment I screamed obscenities at the TV and, believe me, that’s not something I’m accustomed to doing.

OK. Rant over. Y’all can go back to your knitting or whatever it is you were doing before reading this.

AV

Leave a Reply

