Robin Williams

Hands down one of the funniest men ever to have graced the stage in my life has passed into the unknown. I’m not going to stretch this out. There’s hundreds of thousands of posts online about this absolutely awful event and, while I do want to express how I feel about this, I don’t feel like I have any right to go on and on and on about it when I’ve never met nor have I known him personally.

Of course, I’m very upset about it and the media aren’t making things any easier. Newspapers are intent on going into the details surrounding Robin’s death and focusing on how it happened rather than his life and what an amazing human being he was. Growing up I spent my early childhood watching films like Flubber, Mrs Doubtfire and, my personal favourite, Jumanji. I’ve been surrounded by comedy since very early and even with all the comedians to choose from in the world, I still truly believe Robin Williams was the greatest comedic mind of the past 20 years, probably even longer.

My favourite scene from Jumanji!

My thought are with his family and friends at this difficult time and I truly hope that people will respect their privacy and grieving process. So, I say this in closing, you’re a legend Robin and I know you’ll keep generations laughing for years to come and I know you’ll be as big a hit wherever you are now as you were when you were here. Rest in peace.

I hope y’all go out and find some laughter not just this Thursday but always

AV

Leave a Reply

