Work: When You Need a Break

Working in the same place for the past 17 months, I’ve realised that there comes times when you feel like you just need a break. You need to get away from it all because, let’s be perfectly honest, work is ridiculously tiring no matter how many hours you do!

For me, it’s tiring for several reasons. I spend £40+ travelling backwards and forwards from Glasgow every weekend while in uni, just so I have enough money to buy food and afford the travel. Despite only working 12 hours a week, it’s the most tiring and probably the most stressful 12 hours of my entire week and it’s always something different you’re doing every day. Sometimes it’s nice to be doing something different every day but when that means you literally spend half the day wondering what you’re meant to be doing because nobody has bothered to tell you what to do and you can’t see anything that needs doing, that’s when it gets stressful. A lot of what I do is very monotonous. Filling up shelves, making shelves look full, sweeping under the shelves, checking the dates on food stock and being put on tills even when they have enough till staff because “it’s everyone’s job too”. I’ve got to say, being hired as floor staff = tills not a part of my job description, literally, I’ve read it like 10 times and not once does it say I have to go on tills. Anyway, I digress.

So when do you need a break? There are almost always signs that it’s time to take a step back and take a little time off. For many people there will be different signs but I think there are some pretty commonly found signs at times like this. You feel like other people are making your job harder on purpose, feeling like something bad’s going to happen every day you’re going to work, constantly worrying that the work you’ve done isn’t up to the standards of other people’s, always asking if what you’ve done looks ok or not, feeling like you’re the only one actually working and, probably the most important one, knowing you can’t afford to but seriously wanting to quit anyway.

Everyone thinks they’ve got it worse than other people at work at some point in their life. Maybe it’s because certain people have favourites and the rest of the staff don’t matter to them or maybe it’s because they feel like other people get off with completely slacking off when you know you’d get a warning if you did it. I know the most annoying thing for me lately is feeling like I’m having to pick up other people’s slack all the time. From people that used to actually work too. Honestly though, every single one of those signs I mentioned in the previous paragraph I’ve felt at least every other day I’ve been working for the past 3 weeks. Another really irritating thing for me is feeling pressured to do the work of someone else higher up than you, as well as your own, when they’re not there for whatever reason.

Anywho, rant over! But, seriously, if you feel like any one of the signs I mentioned applies to your situation and has done for, at least, a couple of weeks, consider taking some time off. Being stressed out isn’t good for your health, mental, emotional or physical. Be safe at work especially when it could be affecting your health.

Have a superb Sunday folks!

AV

Leave a Reply

